The qualifying stages of the Belgium Poker Championships (BPC) have got underway at the Casino de Namur in Belgium.

Among the stars who are reported to have entered the event are Davidi Kitai, Michel Abecassis, Eric Koskas, Guillaume de La Gorce ad Anthony Roux, all of whom are from Team Winamax.

At the fourth annual competition, those who enter will need to pay a €1,500 ($1,925) buy-in.

It will take place between November 13th and November 23rd and will be on television throughout this period.

A field of up to 1,000 poker stars are allowed to enter the competition, some of those confirmed are Peter Dalhuijsen, Rolf Slotboom and Michiel Brummelhuis.

Last year, the BPC was won by local player Jamel Maistriaux who beat a field of 842, which included Mickey Finn, Lex Veldhuis and Brummelhuis.

In related news, the Hungarian leg of the European Poker Tour has come to a close and Englishman William Fry has emerged as the winner.