Ireland has emerged as the winner at the APAT Poker Association & Tour European Team Championship.

Playing at the Grosvenor Casino in Brighton on November 1st and 2nd, the team from the Emerald Isle beat Germany, France, England, the Netherlands Hungary and Scotland, reports Card Player.

The competition consisted of one table and heads-up play on the first day, with a multi-table gaming taking over on the second day.

On the victorious team were Pat O'Callaghan, John Murray, Colin O'Prey and Brendan Byrne.

They were led by Len Collin of Westport and each player paid a buy-in of £100, with the sponsors, adding £2,000 to the prize pool.

Ireland finished in first place with 67 points, with Scotland on 51 and Germany on 44 in second and third respectively.

Last week, Limerick poker player Fiachra Meere won through a field of 423 players to triumph in the Irish Masters event at the Irish Winter Festival.