The dates on which the seventh season of the World Poker Tour (WPT) will take place have been announced.

January 4th 2009 will see the debut airing of the seventh WPT season on Game Show Network (GSN), according to

George Greenberg, executive director of programming at GSN, said: "GSN is pleased to be the new home of the WPT, the foremost brand in televised poker."

He added that the season promises some of the "biggest names" and the "highest stakes".

Some 26 episodes, each lasting for one hour, will be aired, with commentary from Mike Sexton and Vince Van Patten.

Amanda Leatherman will serve as the sideline reporter for the show.

March will see High Stakes Poker's fifth season aired on GSN, featuring poker pros such as Doyle Brunson, David Benyamine and Peter Eastgate.

The last event on the WPT this year was won by David Rheem, who triumphed at the Bellagio in the WPT Doyle Brunson Classic Championship.