The main event of the World Series of Poker (WSOP) circuit competition at Harrah's Harvey Lake Tahoe Casino begins today.

To date, there have been ten events at the gaming venue, with buy-ins ranging from $300 to $500.

However, the main event, with a buy-in of $5,000, is likely to prove the highlight of the series.

Previous winners at the Harrah's casino include Jeffrey Lisandro, Clint Baskin and Chris Ferguson, who has amassed five WSOP bracelets so far in his career.

The flagship competition will last for two days, with the final table scheduled to take place on Sunday November 16th.

Two other competitions will run alongside the centrepiece for the stop in Lake Tahoe, a $300 and $500 buy-in no-limit hold'em freezout event.

Ferguson has one of the most formidable records of any player in history in the WSOP.

He has cashed on 57 occasions, a record eclipsed by very few gamers, and triumphed in the main event in 2000, defeating legendary poker star TJ Cloutier to win $1.5 million.