American Poker Awards

Monday, February 29, 2016 :  AMERICAN POKER AWARDS ANNOUNCED
Anthony Zinno's performance in the WPT L.A. Poker Classic adjudged the best of the year.
The second edition of the American Poker Awards took place in the appropriately swish area of Beverley Hills in California last week, with a range of industry criteria applied to the 15 winner categories.
TDA Founder and WPT Executive Director Matt Savage's selection as Industry Person of the Year received general approbation, as did the recognition of Anthony Zinno's achievement at the WPT LA Poker Classic as Tournament Performance of the Year, and the World Series of Poker Colossus as the Event of the Year.
The competitive GPI Player of the Year award went to Byron Kaverman, whilst Kelly Minkin was honoured as the Best GPI Woman Player of 2015.
Veteran industry personality Mike Sexton was handed a Lifetime Achievement Award for his many and varied contributions to the industry, and Poker Presenter of the year went to Kara Scott.
Among the more unusual awards was Moment of The Year, which went to Daniel Negreanu's agonising bust out of last year's WSOP Main Event in 11th place…and a related award titled Media Content Award, which went to Joe Giron's picture of Negreanu's anguished disappointment at his elimination.